U.S. imposes travel ban on Nigeria, six others

The United States government has included Nigeria in its expanded list of countries hit by a travel ban.

While Nigerians will still be able to visit the U.S. as tourists, they will henceforth be unable to obtain visas that can lead to permanent residency.

Other countries affected by the ban are Sudan, Eritrea, Tanzania, Kyrgyzstan and Myanmar.

The measure was announced on Friday.

Acting U.S. Homeland Security Secretary Chad Wolf said the new measure was the result of “failures by the affected countries to meet American security and information-sharing standards”, the BBC reported.

“These countries, for the most part, want to be helpful but for a variety of different reasons simply failed to meet those minimum requirements that we laid out,” he was quoted as saying.

He said…

Read All From Original Article on Premiumtimes

%d bloggers like this: