INEC sets January 25, 2020 for 28 rerun elections

Bolaji Ogundele, Abuja


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed January 25, 2020, for the conduct of the 28 outstanding court-ordered rerun elections across in the country.

INEC announced its decision in a statement signed by its National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Barr. Festus Okoye, on Thursday.

According to the statement, the election petition tribunals that were constituted to try cases that arose from the 2019 general elections received a total of 807 post-election petitions, out of which 582 were dismissed and 183 withdrawn by petitioners.

It further explained that of the remaining 42 cases, 30 were decided for rerun and 12 ordered to give certificates of return. Of the 30 rerun cases, two; Kogi West Senatorial District supplementary rerun election and Ajaokuta Federal Constituency rerun election, had been conducted on November 30.

“There are, so far, 30 such court-ordered rerun and supplementary rerun…

Read All From The Original Article on The Nation

%d bloggers like this: