Edo House of Assembly ‘sacks’ 12 lawmakers-elect

The political crisis in the Edo state has degenerated further with the state House of Assembly declaring vacant the seats of 12 lawmakers-elect yet to be inaugurated.

All the 24 state legislators in Edo are members of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

The deputy speaker of the assembly, Yekini Idiaye, told journalists in Benin that the resolution to declare the seats vacant was reached during plenary on Wednesday.

The seats declared vacant are Etsako West I, Etsako West II, Owan East, Owan West, Etsako Central, Etsako East and Esan Central.

Others are Uhunmwonde, Oredo East, Oredo West, Egor, Ovia North East I, Ovia North East II and Ovia South-west I.

Mr Idiaye said the members representing Oredo East and Owan East state constituencies, who were sworn-in, failed to meet…

Read All From Original Article on Premiumtimes

%d bloggers like this: