19 states yet to show commitment

Toba Agboola

The Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) has said 19 out of 36 states across the country are yet to show commitment to the payment of the new National Minimum Wage signed into law by President Muhammadu Buhari on 18 April, 2019.

Speaking with The Nation, NLC President Comrade Ayuba Wabba said the 19 states are yet to set up a Negotiating Committee between them and labour.

Wabba listed the affected states to include Bauchi, Yobe, Rivers, Benue, Gombe, Kwara, Imo, Osun, Ekiti, Oyo, Anambra, Taraba, Cross River, Ogun, Enugu, Nassarawa, Plateau, Kogi and Delta.

He said states like Borno, Abia, Kano, Bayelsa, Sokoto, Niger, Abia, Akwa Ibom, Edo, Ondo, Ebonyi, Katsina and Zamfara had constituted a negotiating committee on the consequential adjustments for workers’ salaries, while Kaduna, Kebbi, Lagos, and Adamawa had commenced implementation and payment of the new national minimum wage.

Wabba warned of dire consequences, including not guaranteeing industrial harmony in such…

Read All From The Original Article on The Nation

%d bloggers like this: